Both are UK menu board apps that run on a Fire TV Stick. Counterboard prices per screen and includes a set number of updates; FireSign prices per shop with four screens included, and you change it yourself as often as you like.
The short answer. Counterboard is £14 a month for one screen and £7 for each screen after it, with no VAT to add, and one screen free with a small Counterboard band on it. FireSign is £3 a week per shop (£13 a month) with four screens included and no VAT to add. For one screen, Counterboard's free tier is hard to beat; from two screens up, FireSign costs less.
| Screens in one shop | FireSign | Counterboard (paid, no band) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | £13 | £14 (or free, with a Counterboard band) |
| 2 | £13 | £21 |
| 4 | £13 | £35 |
Monthly prices. FireSign: £3 a week per shop (£13 a month), four screens included, £1 a week for each screen after that, and £2 a week if you also use FireAttend. Counterboard: £14 for the first screen and £7 for each after it, billed monthly, with each paid TV including two price updates a month and further changes paid for in credits. Neither adds VAT. Both need a Fire TV Stick or similar behind each TV.
| FireSign | Counterboard | |
|---|---|---|
| Priced by | Shop, with four screens included | Screen: £14 the first, £7 each after |
| Free option | 14-day trial, no card | One screen free for as long as you like, with a small Counterboard band |
| Making changes | You change it yourself, from your phone, as often as you like | Two price updates a month per paid TV included; more changes use credits |
| Lunch and evening menus on a timer | Yes: schedule each menu by time of day | Not stated on Counterboard's site |
| Instant message on every screen | Takeovers: one message full-screen everywhere, cleared as fast | Not stated on Counterboard's site |
| Fire TV Stick | Yes, from the Amazon Appstore | Yes, its own app from the Amazon Appstore |
| Other devices | Android TV and Google TV, or any web browser | Android TV, Google TV and Fire TV smart TVs |
| If the Wi-Fi drops | Media stored on the stick | Offline playback |
| Printed menus | No | Printed A4/A5 menu and leaflet from the same price list |
| Alert when a screen goes dark | Yes, by email | Not stated on Counterboard's site |
Counterboard figures are from counterboard.com (its pricing section), read on 15 October 2026. Prices change; check theirs before you decide. We make FireSign, so read this as our comparison, not an independent review.
From two screens up, yes. Counterboard is £14 a month for the first screen and £7 for each after it, so two screens is £21 and four is £35. FireSign is £13 a month per shop with four screens included. For a single screen, Counterboard's free tier (with a small band on the board) costs nothing. Counterboard's prices were checked on 15 October 2026.
Yes. Both install from the Amazon Appstore. FireSign also runs on Android TV boxes and in any web browser, including Samsung and LG smart TVs.
Yes. Set the lunch menu to start at eleven and the evening menu at five, and the screens switch by themselves every day.
No. You change it yourself from your phone or laptop, as often as you like, at no extra cost.
Fourteen days free, no card. Four screens included for £3 a week per shop after that.
Start a free trial See how FireSign works