Planday is a hospitality scheduling platform priced per login. FireAttend is a rota and pay-week app built in a takeaway and priced per shop. Here's how they compare for a UK takeaway.
The short answer. Planday's cheapest plan with clock-in (Starter) is £2.99 per user a month, with a minimum of five users, and every login counts, managers included, billed in bundles of five. A 20-person shop pays £59.80 a month. FireAttend is £26 a month per shop however many staff you have. Planday's document management and payroll integrations are on its Plus plan and above.
| Staff in one shop | FireAttend | Planday Starter | Planday Plus |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | £26 | £29.90 | £69.90 |
| 20 | £26 | £59.80 | £109.80 |
| 30 | £26 | £89.70 | £149.70 |
Planday's published rates: Starter £2.99 per user a month (minimum 5 users); Plus £3.99 per user a month plus a £30 monthly fee (minimum 10 users). Planday doesn't say whether these include VAT. Every login is a user, and users are billed in bundles of five, so 10 staff plus one manager is billed as 15 users. FireAttend is £6 a week per shop (£26 a month), with no VAT to add.
| FireAttend | Planday | |
|---|---|---|
| Priced by | Shop (£6 a week each), unlimited staff | User per month, every login counts, bundles of five |
| How staff clock in | Their own phone: tap the shop's NFC tag (Android) or scan its QR (iPhone) | A tap in the Planday app, a kiosk app, or a physical clock-in station |
| Location check | Optional, once at the moment of the tap, no background tracking | Geolocation and IP-based time recording |
| Pay week | Gross pay from the punches at each person's own rate, bank/cash split, freeze a paid week | Payroll reports on all plans; payroll integrations on Plus and Pro |
| Payslips | Issued from the frozen week into each person's staff app | Not stated on Planday's pricing page |
| Runs payroll | No: your accountant or payroll provider does | Prepares payroll exports; the pricing page doesn't say it runs payroll |
| Documents and right to work | Included: documents and expiry dates in one place, reminders before they lapse | Document management on Plus and Pro |
| Staff at more than one shop | One person, one account, one pay figure across shops | Not stated on Planday's pricing page |
| Free trial | 60 days (card up front) | 30 days of Plus, no card |
Planday figures are from planday.com/pricing and its punch-clock page, read on 15 October 2026. Prices change; check theirs before you decide. We make FireAttend, so read this as our comparison, not an independent review.
From six logins up, yes. Planday Starter is £2.99 per user a month with every login counted and billed in bundles of five, so 6 to 10 logins is £29.90 and 20 is £59.80. FireAttend is £26 a month per shop whatever your headcount. Planday's prices were checked on 15 October 2026.
On Planday, yes: Planday says a user is anyone with a login, billed in bundles of five. On FireAttend there's no per-user charge at all, so managers and staff cost nothing extra.
Yes, on the standard price. Staff upload their own documents when they register, dates are kept, and you're told before they lapse. The check itself is still yours to make.
Yes. The trial is 60 days, long enough to run real pay weeks side by side.
60 days free, then £6 a week per shop, however many staff you employ.
Start your free trial Compare more rota apps